Greenland Coat of ArmsHome Rule is the form of government in Greenland. The Greenlandic parliament is named Landstinget.
Homerule was introduced in 1979. It is a federation with the country of Denmark based of extensive self-government by Greenland.

Legislation is formally approved by the Danish parliament, Folketinget. Greenland elects two members to Folketinget. Folketing and the Danish administration issue acts and directives for the few areas not transferred to the Home Rule, but almost all legislation originates in the Greenlandic parliament, Landstinget.

Kuupik Kleist  
Kuupik Kleist
Prime Minister of Greenland
The members of the Landsting are elected at least every four years by a general election among all Danish citizens resident in Greenland aged over 18. The Landsting nominates the president of the executive Landsstyret and approves the nomination of its members, who act as the country’s government. Each Landsstyre member serves as minister for particular areas of responsibility. Greenland has a very active political life, dominated by four parties: Siumut, the Democrats, Inuit Ataqati- giit, and Atassut.

Greenland is divided into four large municipalities, each led by a municipal council headed by a mayor. The municipalities are responsible for the welfare of the local communities, including child- care, elementary school, culture and leisure as well as various social services.

Greenland administers the exploitation of mineral and energy resources on behalf of the Federation, with future income accruing to Greenland after the subsidies from Denmark have been covered. The legislative and decision-making authority only remains in Denmark in relation to foreign policy, police, judicial system and the surveillance of Greenland’s waters. The Danish state is represented by the High Commission, which is headed by the High Commissioner Greenland is a member of the Nordic Council and in this way maintains close links with the other Nordic countries. Greenland’s economy, settlement structure, education system and welfare system have much in common with the general Scandinavian welfare model.

But there are also many links across the Davis Strait to the North American continent. Particularly the collaboration within the ICC – Inuit Circumpolar Council – has contributed positively to the development of the polar collaboration, which among other things has manifested itself in the establishment of the Arctic Council in 1996.

      Greenland Municipalities       
Qaasuitsup   Qaasuitsup Kommunia

Population is 17,867 (as of January 2008)

The administrative center of the municipality is in Ilulissat. The municipality is located in northwestern Greenland. An area of 254,827 sq mi  (660,000 sq. km) it is larger than France, and it is the largest municipality in the world by area.

Official website >>

Qeqqata   Qeqqata Kommunia

Population is 9,627 (as of January 2008)

The administrative center of the municipality is in Sisimiut. The municipality is located in central-western Greenland covering an area of 71,768 sq mi  (115,500 sq. km).

Official Website >>

Sermersooq   Kommuneqarfik Sermersooq

Population is 20,998 (as of January 2008)

The administrative center of the municipality is in Nuuk, the capital of Greenland. The municipality is located in south-central and eastern Greenland, covering an area of 394,944 sq mi  (635,600 sq. km).

Official website >>

Kujalleq   Kommuneqarfik Kujalleq

Population is 7,755 (as of January 2008)

The administrative center of the municipality is in Qaqortoq. The municipality is located in southern Greenland covering and is with an area of 19,884 sq mi  (32,000 sq. km) the smallest of the four municipalities in Greenland.

Official website >>